BD U-19s off to Asia Cup


Sports Desk

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 15-member Bangladesh Under-19 team for the ACC Youth Asia Cup, which will be held in Malaysia from November 10th. Bangladesh have been placed in Group A alongside India, Nepal and Malaysia while Group B comprises of Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Afghanistan and the winner of the western region which will be determined tomorrow, the same day that the Saif Hasan-led team will leave Dhaka for the tournament. Bangladesh face Nepal, against whom they secured a 2-1 series victory at home on Sunday, in their opening group match at the Kinrara Oval on November 11th. Their second group match will be against Malaysia on November 13 while their third fixture pits them against India on November 14. The Bangladesh U-19 team, which suffers from a lack of match practice ahead of next year’s ICC Youth World Cup in New Zealand, organised the three-match series against a Nepal U-19 side at the BKSP as a part of their preparations for the Asia Cup. Bangladesh won the first encounter by 3 wickets and also won the second by 123 runs before Nepal got some solace from their 6 wicket victory in the last game. Hasan Mahmud and Kazi Onik Islam claimed three wickets each while Nayeem Islam took two before Naim Sheikh scored 53 and Towhid Hridoy added 48 to ease to victory in the low-scoring first match. In the second encounter, Hasan Mahmud captured three wickets after Saif Hasan hit 62 and Afif Hossain tallied 59 to ensure the home side another triumph. However, a 139-run opening stand between JItendra Singh (45) and Mahamad Asif Sheikh (90) helped Nepal finish the tour with a six-wicket win.
SQUAD: Saif Hassan (captain), Afif Hossain (vice-captain), Nayeem Hasan, Pinak Ghosh, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahidul Islam, Mohammad Rakib, Robiul Haque, Hasan Mahmud, Qazi Onik Islam, Roni Hossen, Aminul Islam, Shakhawat Hossain, Naim Sheikh and Shakil Hossain.