DU students demand withdrawal of case over Wednesday’s incident

DU students demand withdrawal of case over Wednesday’s incident

TRIBUNAL DESK: Protesters under the banner “Students against Repression” brought out a torch lit procession on Friday, demanding the withdrawal of a case filed against 50 anonymous demonstrators over the chaos in front of the DU proctor’s office on Wednesday.

The procession paraded through important streets near the university and ended at the base of the Raju memorial sculpture.

Addressing the programme, Hasib Ahmed Ashiq, a third year student of Islamic History and Culture, said: “We want the immediate withdrawal of the case. The authorities must file a case against the accused Chhatra League men as they are the main miscreants.”

The protesters also demanded the permanent suspension of the assailants and a solution to the affiliate college crisis.

In addition, protesters called for the immediate resignation of DU Proctor Professor AKM Golam Rabbani as student representatives were not included in the probe bodies to investigate both Wednesday’s incident and another on Monday. DU authorities formed a probe committee for each on Thursday.

Both committees had been asked to submit their reports as soon as they were complete, said DU proctor Prof Rabbani.

The probe body to investigate Wednesday’s incident is headed by Professor Zinat Huda of the DU sociology department, while that to investigate Monday’s incident is led by Assistant Proctor Professor Maksudur Rahman.

During a protest by DU students demanding the cancellation of the affiliation of seven government colleges with DU on Monday, Chhatra League leaders of the DU unit, including Bangabandhu Hall General Secretary Al Amin Rahman, allegedly confined protest coordinator Moshiur Rahman Sadik, a student of Institute of Information Technology, inside the VC’s office and also attacked some of the demonstrators.

Protesters on Friday named Chhatra League Shaheed Sergeant Zahurul Huq Hall President Sohanur Rahman Sohan, Hazi Mohammad Muhsin Hall unit General Secretary Mehedi Hasan Sani, Bangabandhu Hall unit General Secretary Al Amin Rahman, Fazilatunnesa Mujib Hall unit President Benjeer Hossain Nishi, Ruqiayyah Hall unit President BM Lipi Akter, Kuwait Moitri Hall unit President BM Farida Parvin, General Secretary Srabony Shaila and Sufia Kamal Hall General Secretary Sharjia Shampa as among the assailants.

On Wednesday, DU students protesting the Chhatra League attack on Monday besieged the proctor in his office and vandalized a collapsible gate of the building

DU Chief Security Officer Kamrul Ahsan Khan filed a case with Shahbag police station against 50 anonymous demonstrators regarding Wednesday’s incident, confirmed the police station’s OC Abul Hasan.